Teaching programmes and the Common core of knowledge, skills and culture

The Common Core of Knowledge, Skills, and Culture [anglais]

The Common Core of Knowledge, Skills, and Culture identifies the knowledge, skills, values, and attitudes necessary for a student to be successful in their schooling, personal life, and life as a future active citizen; students are expected to know and master the Common Core by the end of their obligated schooling, age 6-16. In 2013, the Common Core was redefined to include the concept of Culture, so as to ensure students were educated about the common identity shared within the French culture and what it means to live in France as a citizen.

The Common Core of Knowledge, Skills, and Culture

Obligated schooling guarantees each student the necessary methods to acquire the Common Core of Knowledge, Skills, and Culture, thanks to new teaching methods. The Common Core should: permit the pursuit of studies and the construction of a personal and professional future, as well as prepare the student to exercise their rights of citizenship. Starting in 2017, controls for calculating points for obtaining the National Diploma will take into account the evaluation of the components of the Common Core of Knowledge, Skills and Culture evaluated by a four-level mastery scale. In 2013, a law was passed which announced the new priorities of the Common Core, now organised in 3 cycles of teaching. 

  • Cycle 1 of learning covers the first, second, and third years of nursery school. It precedes the period of obligated schooling that starts at age 6, Cycle 2.
  • Cycle 2, cycle of fundamental learning : CP, CE1, and CE2 - the three first years of elementary school
  • Cycle 3, cycle of reinforcement : CM1, CM2 and 6th level class - the two final years of elementary and the first year of lower secondary school
  • Cycle 4, cycle of deepening the engagement of learning : classes of 5ème, 4ème and 3ème - the three final years of lower secondary school

For the first time, these programmes specify the training challenges and objectives for each teaching cycle and highlight the contributions of each of the different lessons to the acquisition of the five training areas of the new Common Core of Knowledge, Skills, and Culture. 

For each lesson, the programmes indicate the proficiency levels expected at the end of the cycle, and the skills and knowledge that should be acquired. They identify, equally, the benchmarks of progress necessary for organising the training of pupils during the three years of each cycle.

For further information about the Common Core In French, click here.

For further information about the Cycles of Teaching in French, click here.

The Common Core of Knowledge, Skills and Culture

Since the 2013 revision to the Common Core, 5 domains have been redeveloped to teach students the best methods of acquiring the knowledge, skills, and culture of the Common Core. The steps range from Languages for Thinking and Communicating, Methods and Ways for Learning, Forming the Person and the Citizen, Natural Systems and Technical Systems, to Representations of the World and Human Activity.

Languages for Thinking and Communicating

In the first step of the Common Core, students will be taught how to understand and express themselves while using 4 types of language:

  • French;
  • other modern or regional languages;
  • mathematic, scientific, and technological languages;
  • language of the arts and the body.

Methods and Ways for Learning

Students will be taught how to:

  • learn, individually or collectively, in class or outside of class, 
  • how to access information and documents,
  • technological methods,
  • how to lead individual or collective projects,
  • how to organise their studies and the knowledge they have accumulated.

Forming the Person and the Citizen

The fundamental values and principles inscribed within the Constitution will be transmitted to students in this stage. They will learn how to:

  • live as a functioning member of society, about collective action, and what it means to be an active citizen,
  • respect personal choices and individual responsabilities, through, for example, the moral and civic programme (EMC) that was introduced as a compulsory discipline in Citizenship Education.

Natural and Technical Systems

Here, students are given the fundamentals of mathematic, scientific, and technological culture:

  • scientific and technological approach to the world,
  • how to cultivate a sense of curiosity and observation,
  • how to resolve problems effectively. 

Representations of the World and Human Activity

Students will develop:

  • a spacial conscience of geography and history, through understanding societies within their respective environment,
  • learn how to interpret human cultural productions,
  • gain an understanding of the contemporary world around them.

To see more about each step of the Common Core, follow this link for videos in French here.

For the full Infographic in French, click here.

Livret Scolaire - A New Tool for Evaluation

The new, unique scholarly evaluation report for primary and lower secondary schools is a simple and precise method for showing parents the experiences and progress of their children and, through this method, giving a more complete and thorough evaluation. Following the recommendations at the National Council on the Evaluation of Students (Cnesco), this new report is accessible on line as of 2016 so that parents and students can read it as they wish. The national application of assesment results, simple and ergonomic, is common to primary and secondary public and private school teachers.

To learn more about the Livret Scolaire in French, click here.

For more information about the Common Core and Student Evaluation in French, click here.

Last updated May 16, 2017
fermer suivant précédent